Thyroid cancer

The diagnosis of thyroid cancer indicates a malignant formation of the thyroid gland. It can occur at any age, but people over the age of 30 are more frequently affected, with women twice as likely as men. 

Overall, thyroid cancer is a rather rare type of cancer (1% of all cancers). The disease can be divided into different typologies. In up to 30 percent of people in Germany, benign tumours can be detected in the thyroid gland. In contrast, an average of 2400 people are diagnosed with thyroid cancer every year. And only in one in 1000 cases does the malignant tumour develop from a benign tumour. 

The chances of cure are generally excellent for a thyroid cancer that is detected in time.  

Benign tumours, called adenomas, develop when the thyroid tissue can no longer be regulated in its hormone production by other hormones (functional autonomy). In over 95 percent of cases, thyroid cancer develops from the cells lining the glandular ducts (epithelial cells). 

Thyroid cancer and thyroid lymphoma always originate within the organ thyroid gland. Benign thyroid tumours can also develop as metastases of other malignant tumours, for example breast cancer, malignant melanoma or lung cancer.

 

Papillary, follicular, medullary cancers

So-called papillary thyroid cancer is the most common cancer of the thyroid gland, accounting for 60 percent of all cases; it spreads and metastasises across the lymphatic system. 

Follicular thyroid cancer is the second most common form of thyroid cancer and in most cases occurs as a single lump in the thyroid gland. Patients around the age of 50 are particularly affected. Follicular cancers initially metastasize in the bloodstream and then form metastases in the lungs and bones. 

Medullary thyroid cancer does not originate from thyroid hormone-producing thyroid cells (thyreocytes), but from the calcitonin-producing C-cells of the thyroid gland.

Initially, the tumour is limited to the thyroid gland. If it is not detected and grows, it can break through the connective tissue capsule of the thyroid gland and attack nearby tissue, lymph nodes or other organs. Then cancer cells can also reach distant organs via lymph vessels and blood vessels, establish themselves there and multiply again; metastases develop. In thyroid cancer, metastases occur most frequently in the lungs, liver and bones.

 

Symptoms

The symptoms of thyroid cancer are similar to those of a harmless cold that extends over a long period of time. Patients complain of difficulty swallowing, palpably or visibly enlarged lymph nodes in the throat area, a feeling of pressure in the throat area, shortness of breath, hoarseness and the urge to cough.

Schilddrüsenkarzinom

Die Diagnose Schilddrüsenkarzinom bezeichnet eine bösartige Neubildung der Schilddrüse. Es kann in jedem Alter auftreten, aber Menschen ab dem 30. Lebensjahr sind häufiger betroffen, davon Frauen doppelt so häufig als Männer. 

Insgesamt betrachtet ist Schilddrüsenkrebs eine eher selten vorkommende Krebsart (1 % aller Krebserkrankungen). Die Erkrankung lässt sich in verschiedene Typisierungen unterteilen: Bei bis zu 30 Prozent der Menschen in Deutschland lassen sich gutartige Tumore in der Schilddrüse nachweisen. Dagegen erkranken an einem Schilddrüsenkarzinom im Durchschnitt  2400 Menschen pro Jahr. Und nur in einem von 1000 Fällen entwickelt sich der bösartige aus einem gutartigen Tumor. 

Die Heilungsaussichten sind bei einem rechtzeitig erkannten Schilddrüsenkrebs im Allgemeinen ausgezeichnet. 

Die gutartigen Tumore, genannt Adenome entstehen, wenn sich das Schilddrüsengewebe in seiner Hormonproduktion nicht mehr durch andere Hormone regulieren lässt (funktionelle Autonomie). Schilddrüsenkarzinome dagegen entwickeln sich in über 95 Prozent der Fälle aus den Zellen, die die Drüsengänge auskleiden (Epithelzellen). 

Schilddrüsenkarzinome und auch Schilddrüsenlymphome nehmen immer innerhalb des Organs Schilddrüse ihren Ursprung, gutartige Schilddrüsentumore können zudem als Metastasen anderer bösartige Tumore entstehen, beispielsweise bei Brustkrebs, schwarzem Hautkrebs oder Lungenkrebs.

 

Papilläre, follikuläre, medulläre Karzinome

Das so genannte papilläre Schilddrüsenkarzinom ist mit 60 Prozent der Fälle das häufigste Karzinom der Schilddrüse, es streut und metastasiert über die Lymphbahnen. 

Das follikuläre Schilddrüsenkarzinom ist die zweithäufigste Form des Schilddrüsenkarzinoms, es tritt in den meisten Fällen als ein einzelner Knoten in der Schilddrüse auf. Betroffen sind vor allem Patientinnen und Patienten um das 50. Lebensjahr. Follikuläre Karzinome metastasieren zu Beginn auf dem Blutweg und bilden anschließend in Lunge und in den Knochen Tochtergeschwülste. 

Das medulläre Karzinom geht nicht von den Schilddrüsenhormon produzierenden Schilddrüsenzellen (Thyreozyten), sondern von den Calcitonin produzierenden C-Zellen der Schilddrüse aus.

Zunächst beschränkt sich der Tumor auf den Bereich der Schilddrüse. Wird er nicht erkannt und wächst, kann er die Bindegewebskapsel der Schilddrüse durchbrechen und nahegelegenes Gewebe, Lymphknoten oder andere Organe befallen. Dann können Krebszellen über Lymphgefäße und Blutbahnen auch in entferntere Organe gelangen, sich dort ansiedeln und erneut vermehren; es entstehen Metastasen. Diese treten bei einem Schilddrüsenkarzinom am häufigsten in Lunge, Leber und Knochen auf. 

 

Die Symptome 

Die Symptome eines Schilddrüsenkarzinoms ähneln über einen längeren Zeitraum hinweg denen einer harmlosen Erkältung. Die Patientinnen und Patienten klagen über Schluckbeschwerden, tastbar oder sichtbar vergrößerte Lymphknoten im Halsbereich, Druckgefühl im Halsbereich, Atemnot, Heiserkeit und Hustenreiz.