Brain tumor (Glioblastoma)

Glioblastoma is the most common malignant brain tumor in adults. The glioblastoma has fine tissue similarities to the glial cells of the brain. The glioblastoma originates from the white substance. It is most frequently located in the cerebrum, where it can develop in all brain lobes, but tends to occur in the frontal and temporal lobes.

​In Germany, eight to ten people out of 100,000 suffer from a glioblastoma every year, mainly children up to the age of ten and adults aged 60 to 75. Men are affected much more frequently than women.

​Because of the rapid growth, the symptoms usually develop quickly within a few weeks to months. The first symptoms can be persistent and unfamiliar headaches, but also the appearance of epileptic seizures. Neurological dysfunctions such as paralysis, aphasia (speech disorders) and vision disorders also may occur, depending on the location of the tumor. Often conspicuous personality changes, apathy or psychomotor deceleration are the factors that lead the patient to the doctor.

​Glioblastomas look different in various stages and are therefore not always easy to diagnose. Striped necrosis (dead cells), for example, are an indication that the tumor is a glioblastoma. Glioblastomas can develop completely new or develop from less malignant astrocytoma as a result of progressive degeneration. It is therefore not uncommon that treated astrocytoma relapse manifest as glioblastomas. There is no indication that heredity plays any role.

​In addition to neurological examinations, above all because of the many differential diagnoses, imaging methods are used for diagnostics: electroencephalogram (EEG), acoustically evoked potentials (AEP), visually evoked potentials (VEP), sensory evoked potentials (SEP), computer tomography (CT), blood tests (e.g. B. tumor markers), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), angiography, positron emission tomography (PET) and biopsies.

Gehirntumor (Glioblastom)

Das Glioblastom ist der häufigste bösartige hirneigene Tumor bei Erwachsenen. Das Glioblastom weist feingewebliche Ähnlichkeiten mit den Gliazellen des Gehirns auf. Das Glioblastom geht von der weißen Substanz aus. Seine mit Abstand häufigste Lokalisation ist das Großhirn, wo es in allen Hirnlappen entstehen kann, aber den Frontal- und den Temporallappen bevorzugt.

An einem Glioblastom erkranken in Deutschland jährlich acht bis zehn Personen von 100.000. Darunter vor allem Kinder bis zum zehnten und Erwachsene vom 60. bis 75. Lebensjahr. Männer sind deutlich häufiger betroffen als Frauen.

Wegen des rasanten Wachstums entwickeln sich die Beschwerden meist rasch innerhalb weniger Wochen bis Monate. Erste Symptome können anhaltende und ungewohnte Kopfschmerzen, aber auch neu auftretende epileptische Anfälle sein. Neurologische Ausfälle wie Lähmungen, Aphasien (Sprachstörungen) und Sehstörungen können je nach Lage des Tumors hinzukommen. Schließlich sind es oft auffällige Persönlichkeitsveränderungen, Apathie oder psychomotorische Verlangsamung, die den Patienten zum Arzt führen.

Glioblastome sehen in verschiedenen Stadien unterschiedlich aus und sind deshalb auch nicht immer einfach zu diagnostizieren. Strichförmige Nekrosen (tote Zellen) sind z. B. ein Indiz dafür, dass es sich um ein Glioblastom handelt. Glioblastome können völlig neu oder durch fortschreitende Entdifferenzierung (Entartung) aus weniger bösartigen Astrozytomen entstehen. Daher kommt es nicht selten vor, dass therapierte Astrozytome sich im Rezidiv als Glioblastom manifestieren. Es gibt keine Hinweise auf eine Erblichkeit.

Neben den neurologischen Untersuchungen, vor allem wegen der vielen Differenzialdiagnosen, kommen zur Diagnostik vor allem bildgebende Verfahren zum Einsatz: Elektroencephalogramm (EEG), Evozierte Potenziale (akustisch evozierte Potenziale AEP, visuell evozierte Potenziale VEP, sensorisch evozierte Potenziale SEP), Computertomogramm (CT), Blutuntersuchungen

(z. B. Tumormarker), Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT), Angiographie, Positronen-Emissions-Tomographie (PET) und Biopsien.