Myelodysplastic Syndromes

Myelodysplastic syndromes is an umbrella term for various bone marrow diseases that occur predominantly in patients in their second stage of life. Essentially, these are symptoms that do not "fit" into other types of cancer such as leukaemia and are summarised under this term.

In this group of bone marrow diseases, blood formation does not proceed from healthy but from genetically modified original cells (stem cells). The body of patients suffering from myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) is no longer able to produce fully mature and functional blood cells from these stem cells. Myelodysplastic syndrome is also a "side effect" of several drugs such as cytostatics.

In advanced stages of these diseases increasing numbers of immature blood cells are produced. The process of blood formation is therefore permanently impaired and can lead to acute myeloid leukaemia (AML) in some patients at a later stage. Patients gradually lose more and more of their strength.

The Hb level and the hematocrit, i.e. the measured value for the distribution of the solid and liquid components, decrease dramatically. One tries to stop this either by weekly or fortnightly blood transfusions or by a weekly injection of erythropoietin.

 

At the same time, the number of thrombocytes that are responsible for blood coagulation and the number of leukocytes, the white blood cells responsible for immune defense, also decrease significantly.

Symptoms

As the disease progresses, sudden bleeding in the gums, nose and - especially serious - stomach and intestines occurs more frequently.

A final diagnosis can only be made by microscopy. Bone marrow smears or punch biopsies are required. Although there is often a reduction in blood cell count, many patients are asymptomatic.

As the disease progresses, haematomas develop all over the body, from the face to the feet. Furthermore, those affected are highly susceptible to infections of all kinds and must avoid large numbers of people at all costs.

Myelodysplastisches Syndrom

Bei dem myelodysplastischen Syndrom handelt es sich um einen Überbegriff von verschiedenen Knochenmarkerkrankungen, die vorwiegend bei Patienten im zweiten Lebensabschnitt auftreten. Im Grunde genommen handelt es sich hierbei um Symptome, die nicht in andere Krebsarten wie Leukämie »passen« und unter diesem Begriff zusammengefasst werden.

In dieser Gruppe von Erkrankungen des Knochenmarks geht die Blutbildung nicht von gesunden, sondern von genetisch veränderten Ursprungszellen (Stammzellen) aus. Der Körper von Patienten, die an myelodysplastischen Syndromen (MDS) leiden, ist nicht mehr in der Lage, aus diesen Stammzellen vollständig reife und funktionstüchtige Blutzellen zu bilden. Das myelodysplastische Syndrom ist außerdem eine »Nebenwirkung« mehrerer Medikamente wie z. B. Zytostatika.

In fortgeschrittenen Stadien dieser Erkrankungen werden immer mehr unreife Blutzellen produziert. Der Blutbildungsprozess ist also nachhaltig gestört und kann bei manchen Patienten zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt auch zu einer akuten myeloischen Leukämie (AML) führen. Die Patienten verlieren allmählich immer mehr an Kraft.

Der Hb-Wert und der Hämatokrit, also der Messwert für die Verteilung der festen und flüssigen Bestandteile, gehen dramatisch zurück. Man versucht, dies entweder durch meist wöchentliche oder vierzehntägliche Bluttransfusionen oder durch einmal wöchentliches Spritzen von Erythropoetin aufzuhalten.

Gleichzeitig geht auch die Zahl der Thrombozyten, die für die Blutgerinnung mitverantwortlich sind, und die Zahl der Leukozyten, der für die Immunabwehr zuständigen weißen Blutkörperchen, deutlich zurück.

Die Symptome

Im Krankheitsverlauf kommt es immer häufiger zu plötzlichen Blutungen im Zahnfleischbereich, in der Nase und − besonders gefährlich − im Magen und im Darm.

Eine endgültige Diagnose kann nur durch das Mikroskop geschehen. Hierbei werden Ausstriche des Knochenmarks oder Stanzbiopsien benötigt. Zwar findet man im Blut oftmals eine Verminderung von Blutzellen, doch viele Patienten haben überhaupt keine Symptome.

Im Krankheitsverlauf entstehen am ganzen Körper, vom Gesichtsbereich bis zu den Füßen, Hämatome. Weiterhin sind Betroffene extrem anfällig für Infektionen aller Art und müssen Menschenansammlungen unbedingt meiden.